here-little-kitty:

mythgrrl:

oh-my-meoww:

suicunesrider:

magic-in-a-bottle:

toomanyfandomsforonetobemyurl:

survivor-surviving:

diamondsamura1:

thewonderfulthingaboutfish:

nutriecutie:

cl4yton:

parskis:

i swear to god, men raising their voice is the most terrifying thing in the whole world. they dont understand, like its an immediate panic response, game over

I actually had no idea women found this so scary

my downstairs neighbors fight on a regular basis, and every time he starts yelling i’m a little afraid he’s going to kill her. i have no reason to think this except that he is a man and he is angry

My math teacher has a loud voice and a temper and he scares the living shit out of me almost everyday. He’s made me and other kids cry more than once and he and his teacher buddies make a joke out of terrifying students.

this was women in general? i knew my gf didn’t like it but I was unaware if this affected most women

Yes, it does

As a woman, I had no idea it effected other women like this. I was too afraid to even talk about it. I thought I was weak. Thanks for bringing attention to this.

My dad thinks it’s funny that I used to cry when he raised his voice. I freak out whenever some one does. Once my director did, and I started crying I couldn’t stop. I’m glad to see I’m not alone…

This is so important– seeing how common this is– and I also want you all to know that this is not normal. It isn’t something instinctively ingrained into women, to be afraid of men. There is no natural state of men being a threat that women constantly have to be afraid of. This is cultural. So many women and girls here have a mutual understanding of this feeling, and I think it really shows an unsettling truth about our society, particularly about how men are raised to act and how so many women have this defensive reaction gradually develop. It’s so important that these people have their voices heard, because it teaches us about problems that we just can’t deny the existence of any longer.

I’m glad I’m not the only one

and this is a COMMON thing!!! it isnt just women who have a traumatic past or a past w violence!!! its women and girls everywhere!!! from every walk of life!

I’ve realized that I get nervous just thinking that a man MIGHT raise his voice. Like he doesn’t even have to actually do it but if I’m in a situation where I have to tell a man something he might not like hearing or something I’m already afraid that he might yell. I work in retail so I have situations like this more often than I’d like.

Leave a comment